So… what do you DO all day?

We do things… and stuff.

27 January 2009 January 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — keekahoney @ 8:46 pm

I hate blogs that start with “sorry I haven’t blogged in awhile…” but, uh, sorry I haven’t blogged in awhile.  Due to Seasonal Affective Disorder, January is the worst month for me, mood-wise, and it’s hard for me to feel motivated to do anything.  To top it off, we had more than a week of very low-hanging cloud.  Now it is bitterly cold, but I don’t care because the sun is back! 

Last week, my ex-mother-in-law (Bailey’s grandmother) was asking me some more about homeschooling.  I figured I might as well be upfront about the style of homeschooling that we do, so I offered to send her some information.  I gave her a list of books that have helped me over the years (by John Holt, John Taylor Gatto, and Grace Llewellyn), as well as some links.  I made sure I expressed my passion for this style, and sounded very enthusiastic about sharing the information with her.  Truthfully, though, I am scared.  She is fairly open to new ideas, but if she does the research and thinks unschooling is a horrible idea then I might have a fight on my hands.  I’m trying to stay positive, though, and manifest the result that I want.

Bailey was on a Sims kick for a couple days.  She likes making Sims to look like people she knows.  Then she spent a couple days getting ready for a sleepover at a friend’s house.  I was a little worried about the sleepover, because the last one she had ended in disaster with her fighting with her friends, and throwing up due to lack of sleep and too much candy.  I think this one went fairly smoothly though, although she came home at 4 p.m., crashed on the couch for 3 hours, and then slept for 12 hours that night!  (Of course, she swears up and down that she and her friend went to bed early and had a restful night’s sleep, lol!)

Today we are going to ICS (the same place I go for Baby’s Head Start) for a Healthy Living Kitchen.  Apparently we’ll be making fish and, presumably, learning about how fish can be part of a healthy diet.  Honestly, why do these community agencies have to make things so simplistic?  People can’t really be that thick, can they?  “Really?  I shouldn’t shake a baby?  And fruit is healthy?  And smoking can kill you?”

Gah.  /rant.

 

Leave a Reply

