So… what do you DO all day?

We do things… and stuff.

31 January 2009 February 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — keekahoney @ 12:08 am

So apparently Bailey’s bio-dad is in town.  He stopped by unannounced yesterday.  Normally I would prefer that he phone first and make arrangements, but he is here so rarely that frankly I was just glad she got to see him.

He wanted to take her out rock hunting with him and then out for dinner, which was fine with me.  I was a little worried about them going off into the woods (long story) but I know I have to let go and allow him to be a parent, too.  I just made sure I packed her snowpants, some food and water, a hat, gloves, and a scarf.  Oh, and an extra dry pair of socks, just in case.

It became apparent to me just how little I trust him when my cell phone rang a couple hours later.  My heart started racing, and I actually answered the phone, even though I didn’t recognize the number.  (Did I mention I have a bit of a phone phobia?  It comes from years of dodging calls from people who were angry with my ex.)  I was sure it would be Bailey, calling (somehow) from the woods, lost and alone.  Thankfully, it was a wrong number.  Bailey was returned, safe and sound, at 7:15 p.m., only an hour and fifteen minutes later than he said he’d be.  I usually tack on an hour to whatever time he gives me, though, so really it was only an extra 15 minutes.

I am so very pleased with how their visit went.  Usually she seems sad when she comes back and says that they didn’t do anything together or that they only did what he wanted to do.  This time though she was in a good mood when she got home, and had lots of stories to tell.

He didn’t talk to me at all about the homeschooling, but apparently he asked Bailey about it.  I don’t know why he never replied to my emails.  I don’t even know if he received them.  For all I know he thought she was in school until he got to town and his mom filled him in.  Having him peripherally involved like this is really annoying.  I would prefer that he either A) visit and call her but let me make all the decisions or B) be involved, email me back when I email him, and keep in touch.  We sort of have Option A right now, but with an underlying threat that he could come back whenever he wants and we’d have to go back to our one week on/one week off custody agreement.

Bailey and I made some cake yesterday, and did some reading in a book that we took from the library about force and motion.  We wanted to learn a bit more about machines so that we could make better Rube Goldberg devices.  I’ve never really used the science/math/logic side of my brain, so I am learning right along with her.  We looked at simple machines, and learned how they make up complex machines.  Cool!

Before bed we played two wounds of Battleship and then I read some more of Are You There God?  It’s Me, Margaret to her.  She had a nightmare in the middle of the night and came to sleep with us for the rest of the night.  Sometimes I miss the days when it was just her and me and we slept together in our single loft bed.  Now she’s much more restless, and way bigger than she was when she was 6!  Plus, I have her snuggling on one side of me and Steve on the other and I end up sweating and stiff. 

Today she cleaned her room a little, played Animal Crossing, made lunch for us (ichiban), and we are currently working on making cookies from a recipe in her new cookbook.  She also spent quite a bit of time playing happily in her room today.  Her latest game is that she has 11 babies! 

Well, sounds like the cookies are nearly done.  I’ll try to remember to take some pictures before we devour them.

 

Leave a Reply

