So… what do you DO all day?

We do things… and stuff.

4 February 2009 February 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — keekahoney @ 7:32 pm

Picture time!  I’ve been procrastinating and decided I’d better get around to posting a couple of pictures.

On 30 January Bailey woke up early and then she and Steve made pancakes.  Here she is with the table she set:

 

 

p1290002-smaller

And here are the cookies she made on 31 January:

p1310003-smaller        p1310005-smaller

 

 

 

 

(Gah!  Excuse the random placement/sizing of these pictures, please.  WordPress is frustrating me.)

I wish the picture showed the detail of the “stained glass” part of the cookie a little better.  I have a silicon mat that I use on my baking sheet, and it has a honeycomb design embedded into it.  We didn’t think about that when we made the cookies, but it ended up looking really cool, especially the yellow ones!  (The stained glass is crushed Life Savers.)

Yesterday we went to the museum with Bailey’s grandma.  It was nice, but we didn’t get to spend a lot of time there.  Bailey’s favourite thing is a sand and water table that they have there.  The table is on a very slight angle so the water flows from the top to the bottom and then gets recirculated.  You can make lakes and streams, you can observe erosion, you can make islands… seriously, it is so fun.

After the museum we went for coffee.  I am really glad that I am still friends with Bailey’s bio-dad’s family.  After bio-dad dumped me they even took me with them to Disneyland!  They are great people, and even though Bailey’s grandma and I are very different and drive each other nuts sometimes we still get along.

We went to the library and got still more books.  This week is “Freedom to Read” week, and Bailey was very curious about why anyone would want to ban a book.  They had a display with copies of some of the books, and she saw Maxim magazine there.  At first she said “Oh, I can understand why they banned that.” Being a sometime reader of that magazine (among other ‘smut,’ lol), but wanting to keep her talking I asked her why.  She started to explain but then said “actually, no, nothing should be banned.”  Hopefully she came to that conclusion on her own and not because she sensed my apprehension!  We were surprised to learn that books by Judy Blume, Stephen King, and Dr. Seuss have all been challenged at some point.

We went up to a local health food store because I heard that it was cheap day.  I really thought I would buy something, but honestly, I don’t get it.  Yes, on a base level I understand food politics, and I want to buy local, organic, and wholesome foods. . . but a pound of butter was $10.19!!!  Cereal was close to 10 bucks.  So I have two conclusions.  1) I’m not far enough evolved to “get it” yet, and/or 2) $10 is a ridiculous amount to pay for butter and only suckers would buy it.  I think the truth, as usual, lies somewhere in the middle.

After the store, Bailey and I decided to go to Riverside Park for a walk.  It was neat being there in winter.  We went down to the river and saw a parade of birds!  Ducks, Canada Geese, and Swans (they were either Tundra or Trumpeter, we can’t decide).  We took a walk down closer to where they were and got to within 4 feet away from them.  I used to think Canadian Geese were huge birds, but those Swans were enormous!  I didn’t have my camera with me, but I took a couple pictures with my phone, and if I can figure out how to get the pictures onto my computer I’ll share those in the next couple of days.

This morning Bailey showed us a diorama that she made with pipe cleaners and beads.  Too cute!  I’ll try to get a picture of that, too.

Today we will go for a walk in the neighbourhood and possibly watch Annie.  We might even make more cookies!

 

Leave a Reply

