So… what do you DO all day?

We do things… and stuff.

9 February 2009 February 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — keekahoney @ 8:28 pm

Okay, I feel better now.

I’m still huge, and I still worry, but I feel better.

I think it helped that we went for a quick trip out of town yesterday.  Steve had the opportunity to go to a rapier practice in Vernon and while we couldn’t really afford it we decided that the harm to our budget was worth it, and off we went.  It wasn’t particularly fun; Vernon on a Sunday afternoon is about as dull as Kamloops on a Sunday afternoon.  All we did was go to the mall for a  little snack, drop Steve off at his practice and then Bailey and I wandered around their Wal-Mart for a couple hours.  Then we all went to Denny’s for supper and drove home.  However, the change of scenery did us all some good.  Not having to worry about waking up in time for school on Monday was another bonus.

On Saturday we went to a 1st birthday party for my friend’s baby.  He is sooo cute and little.  He’s only 17 lbs., but he is happy, active, and eating like a horse so nobody is worried.  He has been walking since he was 8 or 9 months old (!) and it’s so neat to see this tiny person toddling around.

Saturday night, Bailey initiated a discussion about puberty.  She actually started talking with Steve (he seems to be her go-to guy when it comes to questions about puberty) but invited me to join them when I walked by.  I am so thrilled that she feels safe talking about this with us.  There is No. Way. In. Hell. that I would have talked to my parents when I was a kid.  They really tried to be open-minded and always gave me the impression that they’d be happy to tell me anything I wanted to know, but the idea of talking to them horrified me!  I don’t know how I lucked out with Bailey.  I’m hoping it’s because I’ve always been open with her.  She came to rehearsals of The Vagina Monologues as a preschooler (I was involved in producing and acting in the show for a few years)… maybe that helped?

Today Bailey slept in until 9:30 a.m.!  I was glad for that.  Her sleep has definitely improved since I pulled her out of school, but she still has trouble falling and staying asleep.  We’re increasing her physical activity (or trying to, at least) and trying to keep to a consistent bedtime.  I know many unschoolers don’t do the bedtime thing, but I’m just not there yet.  She doesn’t have to go to sleep when it’s “bedtime” but she does need to stay in her room and read quietly if she doesn’t want to close her eyes.  Steve and I need couple/alone time.

She has spent the morning writing a song, and is now watching music videos on Steve’s computer.  I think we’ll go for a little walk later and then I’ll play outside with her.  I can’t do much, but I figure I can sit on the front steps of our apartment building and throw her a ball.

Hopefully Steve will take her swimming tonight, but he was up until 3:45 a.m. working on his website!

 

Leave a Reply

