So… what do you DO all day?

We do things… and stuff.

3 April 2009 April 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — keekahoney @ 2:31 am

Technically it’s the 4th as I write this, but it’s only 3 a.m. so I’m calling it the 3rd.  So there.

What a day.  Late this morning Bailey noticed that Brownie (the beloved hamster) appeared to have Wet Tail.  We did some research and found out that if she was indeed suffering from Wet Tail (or even just diarrhea) that the odds of her surviving were quite low.  😦  We bought some Wet Tail drops, I made some homemade Pedialyte which we gave to her at half-strength, and we gave her a little bit of plain yogurt.  Then we cleaned her entire cage.  We decided against giving her the medicine because there were mixed reviews online.  Brownie actually appears to be doing just fine, though!  I think maybe it was a false alarm, or just one loose stool brought on by stress (we bought her a new loft and a big new tube for her cage).  Just in case, though, we are limiting her activity (no ball time) and minimizing the amount of contact we give her for two days.

We did buy the camcorder, and we are thrilled with the purchase!  We actually ended up being able to defer the payments and interest for two years, too, so that made it a million times easier on our budget.  There are simply no consequences to our actions!  (Link is to the Least I Could Do comic in which the main character Rayne is always getting lucky despite being an idiot.  Maybe a more appropriate one to link to would be good ol’ Grimey, heh heh.)  Woohoo!  😉 

After we got home Bailey’s bio-dad called.  He’s in town and wants to see her.  So, it’s finally time for the big discussion.  For those of you who don’t know, I’ve decided not to let bio-dad drive her anywhere anymore unless he is supervised by someone I trust.  I have no hard evidence but Bailey told me that he drinks and drives… even with her in the car.  I am stressing a lot about this.  I hope he is reasonable.  I don’t want to keep them apart.  Bailey says she doesn’t want to see him, but she also says she is willing to visit with him here at our apartment or out on the front lawn. 

Poor girl has a lot of mixed feelings about him.  I try to speak of him in a positive, though honest, light.  For example, when she is telling me about how angry she is that he drinks and drives I’ll say something like, “Yes, it seems like your daddy has a big problem with alcohol, which is very sad.  I know he loves you very much, but addiction is a very difficult thing to overcome, and I don’t know if your daddy knows he has a problem yet.”  Maybe that’s TMI for an almost-ten year old, I don’t know.

Well, I’m going to go back to bed now to try again to get some sleep.  My feet are so swollen that my Crocs were tight today!  Add that to the usual sinus congestion, pelvic pain, backache, and general whining, and you’ve got a recipe for insomnia.

 

One Response to “3 April 2009”

  1. Sarah K. Says:

    The whole bio-father issue is a difficult and complicated one. I don’t envy you that 😦

    I hope Brownie is okay!


Leave a Reply

